In 1897 the great Russian businessman Grigori Jelissejev bought 144 ha of land at the
mouth of the River Pühajõe, with the aim of building a majestic castle. The Oru Castle was built in 1899.
In 1934 the industrial society of Estonia bought the castle complex with the park from G. Jelissejev,
paying him 100,000 kroons, and presented it as a gift for the Estonian Republic for the Summer Residence
of the head of the state. During 1935-1940 the Castle was the Summer Residence of the Estonian President
The Oru Castle was destroyed in the course of the Second World War.